2017 USA Speedo Sectionals Championships

The 2017 USA Speedo Sectionals Championships were held March 2–5 in Carlsbad, California. This high-level meet featured many of the best swimmers and teams from the Western Zone which includes all of California and Nevada. Out of the 52 teams competing, RSD finished in fifth place overall, and second place in the medium team division. RSD was the top scoring team from San Diego-Imperial Swimming!

Our six core team values and championship attitude we’re on display all weekend, and we are very proud of all of our swimmers! Three more athletes from RSD qualified for Junior Nationals, including Dylan Delaney in the 50 Freestyle, Oleg Nikolaev in the 500 Freestyle, and Stephan Lukashev in the 100 Butterfly. The boys 4×100 Freestyle Relay also qualified for the Junior National Championships!

RSD swimmers also performed many new Sectionals qualifying times and Futures Championships qualifying times. Rachel Rhee achieved our highest individual placing with a third place in the women’s 200 Freestyle, and was a Championship Finalist in the 50, 100, and 500 Freestyles. Kira Crage also had an amazing meet, finishing in the Championship Final of the 50 Freestyle, and she swam finals in all of her events. Leah Coffin was a standout swimmer, finaling in her events and going best times in 100 Butterfly and 100 Freestyle.

12-year-old, Isabella Abrajan broke the 11–12 100 Freestyle San Diego Imperial Swimming record and had an amazing meet, making finals in her events and scoring many points for the team. She also broke her San Diego record in the 100 Butterfly.

We would also like to congratulate all of our swimmers who competed in this high level meet: Isabella Abrajan, Isabela Boese, Winnie Chen, Amelia Cho, Leah Coffin, Kira Crage, Dylan Delaney, Yuma Dugas, Ty Gruwell, Joshua He, Kaito Koyama, Mia Kragh, Brandon Kulik, Edwin Lim, Stephan Lukashev, Mason Morris, Juliana Natale, Oleg Nikolaev, George Peterson, Morgan Peterson, Lindsey Ren, Rachel Rhee, Dani Rosenthal, Ty Sande, Erin Taggart, Aaron Tice, Eric Workman, George Wythes.